Students Awarded for Local Mississippi History Projects



Front: Peyton Pound, Lili Sagaser, Skylar Culver. Back: Deborah Mordica, Crystal Bush, Jasmine Pullom, Jonathan Franz, Alexis Walton, Madison Lloyd. Photo by Bill McClendon.

On February 22, 2014, the second Local Mississippi History Awards were given at the Mississippi History Day competition at USM-Hattiesburg.

The goal of the award is to deepen student appreciation of and exploration of the untold stories and role of “everyday people” in local Mississippi history, using the National History Day competition as an incentive and a focus for student projects.

Thanks to a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation to Teaching for Change, winning entries received $100 for each student or student team.

2014 Award Winners:

Local-History-Award-Winners-2Higher Education in MS. Paper.
Jonathan Franz, Paul Armstrong Middle School

The Game of Change. Website.
Peyton Pound, Gautier Middle School

Bloodshed in Biloxi. Documentary.
Skyler Culver and Lili Sagashar, Gautier Middle School

Emmett Till. Documentary. Crystal Bush and Jasmine Pullom, Pascagoula High School

Integration of Education Forrest County Ag. H/S. Exhibit. Deborah Mordica, Morgan Thornhill and Landon Wa, Forrest County Agricultural High School

Flonzie Brown. Exhibit. Alexis Walton and Madison Lloyd, Pascagoula High School



The judges for the 2014 awards were Jackie Byrd Martin from the William Winter Institute, Lakya Washington from the McComb School District, and Glenda Funchess, veteran of the Civil Rights Movement.