Local History Awards at Mississippi History Day 2015


crt-post-logosOn Mar. 22, 2015, the annual Local Mississippi History Awards were given at the Mississippi History Day competition at the University of Southern Mississippi.

The goal of the award is to deepen student appreciation of and exploration of the untold stories and role of “everyday people” in local Mississippi history, using the National History Day competition as an incentive and a focus for student projects. (See 2013 and 2014 awardees.)

Thanks to a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation to Teaching for Change, five Local History Awards were given for $100 for each student or student team.

2015 Award Winners

Freedom Riders Website (Junior Group Website)

Asia Lamkin, Lauren Johns, Jaden Martin. Denman JH and McComb HS.

Asia Lamkin (not in photo), Lauren Johns, Jaden Martin. Denman JH and McComb HS.

Colvard, McCarthy, and the 1963 Mississippi State Basketball Team:
Game Changers in the Fight Against Segregation (Senior Paper)

Jonathan Franz with Julian Hipkins III


All Aboard: A Brotherhood Leadership for a National Legacy (Senior Group Documentary)

Railroad project winners

Damion Jordan, Courtney Coney, Corina Cepeda (not in photo) with Julian Hipkins III (McComb High School)

The Mississippi Man (Senior Group Performance)

Mississippi Man

K.J. Peebles, Keanna Rush, Andria Carter, Traveon Wingo, Hannah Bennett, Neshoba Youth Coalition

Elvis Presley (Junior Group Documentary)

Elvis Presley project

Jackson Rhoades, Sarah Daniels, Francesca Patawaran, Tupelo Middle School

Judges, Coordinators, and Teachers


Local history award judges (L to R) Jackie Byrd Martin, Tristal Watson, Marsha McNeil, Alma McDonald, and Julian Hipkins III. (McDonald, Watson, and McNeil are Mississippi Civil Rights Movement and Labor History teacher fellows.)


McComb teacher Alan Wheat will lead the Mississippi team to History Day Nationals in Maryland in June.


Teacher fellow Anthony Golding brought students from Tupelo Middle School.

Dr. Allison Abra, assistant professor of history at USM and MHD co-coordinator.

Photos by Alma McDonald.